Digital Humanities Reflection

Daniel Dietz

Before taking this course I did not know what digital humanities were. I knew that the studies of humanities are an academic disciplines that study human culture  using methods that are primarily critical, or speculative, and have a significant historical element. I had learn this in past humanity courses I had taken in the past. I thought that digital humanities would be some what similar. However, taking this course I learn that digital humanities is much more than that.

I think this quote is a nice way to think about digital humanities,

“A new conjunction of scientist, curator, humanist, and artist is what the digital humanities must strive to achieve. It is the only way of ensuring that we do not lose our souls in a world of data.”
ANDREW PRESCOTT

The Digital Humanities are an area of research, teaching, and creation concerned with the intersection of computing and the disciplines of the study human culture by using modern technology.

In this course we learned  about different tools such as  GIS Lite,  Trello,  DM, WordPress, PhotoScan, Sketch Up, and Omeka. All of these tools are useful in their own unique ways. With these tools we can use them to document and help express and document humanities’ touch on the world.

Even though I will never go on to be in the Digital Humanities field I feel that I have learn valuable tools in this class. Overall I have learned much more about a lot of valuable tools that I can use for many different things. More importantly though,  I have learn the most valuable lesson of digital humanities which is the ability to document yours and other’s life through the modern power of technology.

Leave a Reply

