Trello: Making Organization Easy

Sabrina Kozikis

For the Old Chapel project I am assigned to work with Trello. Since I have little expertise in technology, I was nervous about this project and how I was going to be able to learn and be in charge of a tool I’ve never heard of before. Luckily, though, Trello is extremely user-friendly and I have had no problems working with it!

Trello is a great tool to use when working on big group projects because it keeps things very organized. The layout allows users to create categories that contain new “boards” that help organize the different roles in a project. For the Old Chapel project, for example, we have a Help Board that allows class members to ask questions about how to use Trello; we also have a “Class Requirements” section with boards for blog posts and presentations, and an “Old Chapel Project” section where there is a board for every tool. This helps keeps the work very organized so everyone can access the information they need quickly. Within the boards you can then create cards to outline tasks that need to be done and then can drag project members to those cards to assign them a task. This is also very helpful when it comes to organizing a project because it will clearly tell group members what jobs they are supposed to be doing. On the cards there can be a description, checklist, due dates and comments which all help organize the work to be done as well and keep people on track. If you look at the different tool boards on our class Trello page, you can see how the cards outline specific tasks for the tool’s student(s) to complete.

As I said before, I am not a technology person, but Trello is so user-friendly that I think I would use it again for other projects. What I like about Trello is how easy it is to organize thoughts and projects to ensure you’re getting work done. It can also be applied to other activities other than group projects. It can easily be used as a way of organizing your day-to-day life. When I was looking up tutorials for Trello at the beginning of the semester I saw examples of how to use Trello to create to-do lists and grocery lists; it can be used to organize a party or event that you’re having; you can use it to keep track of school work. It is a versatile tool that I think is extremely helpful for everyone to know how to use. While I am still a pen and paper person, I can understand the appeal of using Trello to organize your life. It is neat and compact; you will never lose a to-do list in a stack of papers again if you use Trello.

Leave a Reply

